It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High Cholesterol Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2009, 02:45 AM   #1
(male)

razo30 HB User
Elevated Liver Functions With Simvastin used for 3 months

I am new to taking cholesterol medicine.

I am 29 years old 5' 10'' 172 lbs with body fat percentage of 24%. I am not in the best shape, but I am not overweight.

My family has a history of having high cholesterol, both of my parents are over 300 with medicine. My mother and father both take Liptor and they are now below 200. My sister is at 275 total without statin.

I was trying to put off taking a statin but my doctor finally told me diet and exercise were not going to be enough.

My last test my total cholesterol was 330 before medicine
my HDL is in the high 50's to low 60s, but my LDL is just out of control.

I was first prescribed Zocor, which I took the generic Simvastin 40MG. I just finished taking it for 3 months, and went to get a blood test.

The doctor immediately called me and said it had elevated my liver functions and stopped me on Zocor.

He recommended I taked Liptor if that is what my parents are taking and it works for them. I am suppose to go into the office in another month for another liver blood test.

The questions my doctor asked me is if I drink or have hepatsis. I don't drink any alcohol, so he is also going to test me for hepatesis.

What else would cause my liver functions to go so high? Is it just a side effect to the Zocor medicine. Will taking another statin produce different results.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by razo30; 12-30-2009 at 02:46 AM.

Old 12-30-2009, 07:18 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

missy222 HB Usermissy222 HB Usermissy222 HB Usermissy222 HB Usermissy222 HB Usermissy222 HB User
Re: Elevated Liver Functions With Simvastin used for 3 months

Hi Razo30,