It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High Cholesterol Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2013, 06:32 AM   #1
(male)

JimOp HB User
the woes of government healthcare.

Ok this will be a bit of a story but here goes.

I am a disabled vet after desert storm I got out of the military. I have upper and lower back issues knees hearing among other issues I have. because i am 40% disabled the VA is my primary health care giver.

A couple years back, i was diagnosed with high triglycerides being around 450. I was told to change my diet quit smoking get more exercise and take these pills.. (i forget what ones)

the meds where working fine and I was good for over a year after that but my prescription ran out about 3 months ago. i called and called and left voice mails and yesterday i finally got in to see my VA doctor. my triglycerides where back where they started around 440 something, having not taking my meds in three months. so now she is changing my meds dispite the fact i have not been taking my meds at all, to a different type upping the dosage.. because in her eyes they where not working.

Now i realllllly dislike this Dr, but i do not have a choice in the matter. she does not listen to anything. she tells me i have to stay off ice cream, cookies, sweets and basicly all the stuff i never eat. I tried to tell her i don't eat that stuff.. she just said well what ever you are eating is not working... you're getting fat.

I am med frame 5'8" 165 pounds and grant it i could loose 10 or 20 pound a few pounds but i am not exactly fat. Exercise is difficult because of my back issues if i strain my back exercising i am laid up for 3 weeks in pain but i never even got to speak to her about the back issues i was in and out of her office in less then 5 min. she didn't listen to my heart or inquire about how i am doing...

I am a little distressed about it all...