It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2004, 08:22 PM   #1

DylansMom HB User
New to diuretics-Help with bad side effects!

Newbie here.I've just started Hydrochlorothiazide (5 weeks)(hypertension around 130/95) and I can't take what I think are side effects. A very "full" head with tingling on the right side now combined with a "full" or heaviness in my chest. This is only alleviated by lying down for over 10 minutes on my left side. The GP claims it can't be from the drug!! I was only 122 lbs prior to this and I've now lost 6 pounds with all the worry. I just reduced my dosage to half a pill even though it is supposed to be 25mg. I don't care what she says.I can't see her for 8 more days!!
Do you think it will do me more harm than good to half my dosage without doc knowing? How long does this drug stay in your body? Thanks for any tips.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-29-2004, 09:46 PM   #2
Inactive

jtu91952 HB User
Re: New to diuretics-Help with bad side effects!

Hi Dylansmom and welcome to the board. There are many posts on this board about the good, bad and ugly of hctz. I have been on hctz since 1999. I do not like it bcuz it can increase glucose and cholesterol levels. That is my only complaint and i don't notice too much of a reduction in my bp.

Sorry but i can't say i've experienced any of those side effects. I have suffered pain on my right side and exhaustion but i don't think it was hctz. Why not type "hctz" in your browser and see what the side effects are. No i don't think halfing the dosage is a bad thing. I am on 25mgs but i only take 12.5mgs. My bp is still high but i don't care 140/69. That could be bcuz i ate too much today, tgif.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-30-2004, 05:15 AM   #3
Inactive

zip2play HB User

Mom,