It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2005, 08:10 AM   #1
(female)

sherbear24 HB User
How to get an acurate average of bp's?

Okay, because I am new to the possibility of hbp I have a lot of questions. My doctor really thinks it is white-coat due to anxiety because life right now is very stressful. Anyway, I know I have posted a lot of similar questions pertaining to this issue, but I was wondering if someone could explain how to get a accurate bp average when taking it at home. My doctor suggested to take it only once in the mornings on Mondays, but I think I would feel better if I monitored it more often. How often do I need to take it during the day and how many days a week for an accurate average? What time a day is usually best? I have been taking it once a day at different times each day and I am not sure if that is the correct way. My readings at home 98% if the time are really good readings. My highest at home has been 135/82 and that has only been once or twice. Typically my readings are anywhere between 99/69-115/72. Any help or advice is really appreciated. I just want to be sure it is white-coat and not hbp. At the doctors office it has been 150/100, but I am always extremely nervous to the point I feel really nauseous.

Old 02-20-2005, 09:38 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

zuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB User
Re: How to get an acurate average of bp's?

If your home readings are accurate, it sure does seem like you have classic white coat!

Given that you would like to monitor more frequently (at least for now),
Try 3 times a day. Same time(s) each day. Always wait at least a 1/2 hour before or after food, smoking or exercise.