It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2005, 07:53 AM   #1
(female)

bogs HB User
left atrial enlargement

Hello

I'm new to this so please forgive me if I don't have the correct ettiquette. I have recently had an ecg due to my blood pressure being high. It came back as left atrial enlargement. Has any one else had this?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-29-2005, 08:01 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Machaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB User
Re: left atrial enlargement

Quote:
Originally Posted by bogs
Hello

I'm new to this so please forgive me if I don't have the correct ettiquette. I have recently had an ecg due to my blood pressure being high. It came back as left atrial enlargement. Has any one else had this?
Uncontrolled high blood pressure can cause enlargement of the heart. Once a portion of the heart gets enlarged, like the atrium, many things that never caused the heart to beat badly, before, now cause the heart to skip beats, race, pound hard, etc.

Do you have problems with your heartbeat?

Has your doctor put you on Coumadin(Warfarin)?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-29-2005, 08:07 AM   #3
(female)

bogs HB User

Thanks. I haven't been to the doctor yet as I have only just had the ecg. I have never had problems with my heart beat. I've done a wee bit of research about this and all the information I could find about it seemed to mention congestive heart failure so I'm a bit freaked out about it.

Last edited by bogs; 07-29-2005 at 09:42 AM.

Old 07-29-2005, 08:19 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(male)

Machaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB User

Quote: