It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2006, 09:51 AM   #1
(male)

trajan HB User
What type of magnesium supplements to take?

I have read here on the board and other articles that taking a magnesium supplement may help reduce BP. But I cannot figure out what type to take as there are many different types of magnesium supplements!

Would anyone have any recommendations? Thanks

Old 07-03-2006, 10:14 AM   #2
(male)

rigel434 HB User
Re: What type of magnesium supplements to take?

I'm an expert of sorts on this as I got hypomagnesemia from taking diuretics. It can take a long time (many months) to replenish your body supplies so you need to do it correctly.

The one thing NOT to take is the magnesium oxide which is cheapest and is what you usually see in stores. Studies show only 4% of that is absorbed in the body. I personally take magnesium taurate - do a web search on that. Magnesium citrate is absorbed well but tends to produce loose stools quicker.

But remember you need to balance magnesium with potassium and especially calcium. Every person has a correct balance for them- for me it seems to be 1:1 calcium to magnesium.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-04-2006, 04:42 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Lenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB User

I will take a different approach and recommend magnesium oxide highly.
Since magnesium is very soluble there is no need to take an expensive chelated version except to enrich the supplement industry. It's easy solubility in stomach acid is one of the reasons that it (as milk of magnesia) has been used for millennia to neutralize stomach acid.

Kidney stones are composed of either calcium oxalate (the most common) or urate stones (uric acid, ammonium urate etc.) The latter occurs in people with gout.