It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2007, 07:47 PM   #1
(female)

harmony06 HB User
blood pressure and nose bleed

this is my first time to this particular board, but i was wondering if high blood pressure would cause someone to have a nose bleed. i have had a nose bleed twice within a week and am trying to figure out why. my husband is terribly concerned and wants me to call my doctor. i feel pretty stupid for calling my doc for something as silly as a nose bleed. does anyone else think that this is reason for alarm? i really don't see that big a deal here. i'd appreciate any input that you may have.

harmony

Old 06-20-2007, 05:18 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

bethsheba HB Userbethsheba HB Userbethsheba HB Userbethsheba HB Userbethsheba HB User
Re: blood pressure and nose bleed

Althought side effects are relatively rare (that's why they call high blood pressure the "silent disease/killer"), some people do have noticable side effects, and nosebleeds fall into that category.

Given the seriousness of having high blood pressure, it may be wise to get your nosebleeds checked out! If nothing comes of it, you will at least have peace of mind.

Bsheba

Last edited by bethsheba; 06-20-2007 at 05:20 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-20-2007, 05:52 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Lenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB User

I agree with beth, a nosebleed is possible but not the likely result of hypertension. Perhaps CONTRIBUTORY, though.
Just borrow someone's BP tester, or go to Walmarts and measure your BP...if under 150/95 you can probably dismiss BP as a cause of the bleed.

harmony,
Are you taking a lot of aspirin, Plavix or any other blood thinners? Do you have any SORES in your nose?