It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2007, 12:47 AM   #1
(male)

seadrops HB User
Question Unstable Blood Pressure

Hi, I'm a 48 yr old male with type 2 diabetes and Cirrhosis of the Liver (Alcohol related). I've been dry for 10+ years. I have been monitoring my bp for the last 2 yrs after a Dr's recommendation. During the last 6 months or so I've noticed the readings have become increasingly unstable. It can vary from 150/105 to 110/60 in the space of a few hours without doing anything to cause it(my average measurements over that period is 130/90). I do all my tests exactly the same way after sitting quietly for about 5 minutes (seated upright against a hard back chair). My lsft arm measurements always seem to be about 10 to 12 mmHg higher than the right arm (I'm right handed). I use a "AND ua-702" digital monitor with an arm cuff). I don't especially suffer any unusual stress and only get a bit light headed when I'm near the lower figures - otherwise no other signs. Can anyone possibly shed some light on what the cause of these swings may be? Many thanks, Dave

Old 08-01-2007, 04:27 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Lenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB UserLenin HB User
Re: Unstable Blood Pressure

Quote:
It can vary from 150/105 to 110/60 in the space of a few hours without doing anything to cause it(my average measurements over that period is 130/90).
That is a huge swing unless accompanied by some exercise.
My first thought is that perhaps you are taking some meds that are fast acting and the timing of those meds determines any particular reading. What are you taking?