It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2003, 09:21 PM   #1
(female)

nono HB User
Post getting scared, 170/101

yikes, i feel like my heart is just waiting to have an attack. i have been monitering my pressure for three months now and when i'm at rest it's 150/100 but i almost had died when i saw how high it was yesterday. anyone else have bp this high? i'm afraid i am going to have to take pills

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-05-2003, 09:27 PM   #2

heavenz HB User
Now i know this isnt a cure , but it should help.
try to drink tons of water and cut down on sodium and salt and see if it decreases

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-06-2003, 05:00 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

CobaltBlue HB User
nono,

Yes I have had blood pressure that high. No matter what I did, I could not bring it down without medication. I can understand the anxiety over taking pills, I was once there. However, if you find that you cannot bring it down to under 140/90 by exercise and diet, then please consider seeking medication to achieve those levels. The flip side is far worse than taking medication. I went years with untreated high bp and the result is damage to my coronary arteries that I am paying for the rest of my life (and I am only 36 now).

[This message has been edited by ubernier (edited 02-06-2003).]

Old 02-06-2003, 12:00 PM   #4

RRR HB User
Yes, my BP when discovered to be high was 180/140. I am on 5 meds and it's 3 months later and BP is lower but not within the recommended 140/90 or lower range.
See your doctor...he can help

Old 02-07-2003, 08:42 AM   #5
Inactive

Moxie75 HB User
Is 140/90 the reccomended range? See that scares me when mine is like that..I want it so bad to be 120/80..Lisa

Old 02-07-2003, 09:41 AM   #6
Senior Veteran
(female)

zuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB Userzuzu8 HB User