It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2008, 05:30 AM   #1
(male)

rrajj32 HB User
do you require medicine at 130/90 bp

do you require medicine at 130/90 bp

Old 02-26-2008, 07:51 AM   #2
(male)

marantz1935 HB User
Re: do you require medicine at 130/90 bp

Hi,

I'm new to elevated blood pressure, but here's what I've learned: 120 over 80 is considered optimal (though I've read recently the 115/75 is now considered a better target). Up to 140 over 90 is considered 'high normal'. 140 over 90 or higher, is regarded as HBP. See you doctor anyway.

My GP has asked me to keep mine at 135/85. My cholesterol is also slightly raised.

Marantz.

Last edited by marantz1935; 02-26-2008 at 08:04 AM. Reason: perfectionism

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-26-2008, 09:20 AM   #3
Veteran
(male)

tamu45 HB User

No you do not. You need to monitor it and do what you can to normalize it. generally a good doctor will give you 6-12 months to bring your BP down. This means all the "usual suspects."

1. Lose weight
2. Stop smoking
3. Cut back drinking
4. Get 30-60 minutes of exercise a day
5. Examine your diet; try the DASH diet
6. restrict sodium
7. Check your sleep pattern for disturbances, apnea, etc.
8. Research possible supplements

Often, but not always, some of the above are enough. If your BP is still at 130/90 or higher after 6-12 months, your doctor will want to start you on low dose meds. You are "pre-hypertensive" and there is a running debate about whether meds are required or not. It depends on how your doctor reads the data. Some doctors believe that if you are over 115/75, you WILL have a stroke or heart attack. Others are more conservative.

tamuprof45

Old 02-26-2008, 11:39 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(male)