It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2009, 08:22 PM   #1
(male)

p22pqq2 HB User
I'm a Frustrated Newbie

Hey all,

I've known for a while that I have hypertension but started last June taking steps to correct it: I cleaned up my diet and started exercising on a regular basis which is about 5 times a week with both aerobic and anaerobic intense workouts. I also do NOT smoke or drink. Today I went to the doc because I have a sore left shoulder, nothing too problematic. They take my bp and it is OUTRAGEOUS like 200/110! It actually has gotten WORSE even though I have lost weight around my midsection, have been exercising consistently and have changed my eating habits (although honestly they aren't great, I do avoid excess calories, red meat, etc.). WHAT THE HECK GIVES??!!!!! I am so frustrated and I came home depressed. Needless to say I am now taking Bystolic (2.5 mg/day) to start. As far as I know hypertension doesn't run in my family. People who see me see someone who looks muscular and fit yet I have an absolutely ATROCIOUS bp! I guess this is more of a vent than any actual questions but I guess are some of you in a similar position such as myself. I know I'm not a spring chicken BUT I am changing my lifestyle and my bp is getting worse, NOT better. Maybe I should go out for huge portions of Chinese food like before? GRRRR.....

Silver lining maybe: I do take a creatine supplement and my doc knows that it CAN definitely raise bp. I guess there is a connection between the kidneys and high blood pressure. I last took some Saturday night and it takes a week to work out of your system so with the meds kicking in I hope to LOWER my bp soon. I am also committed to dropping more weight.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-31-2009, 08:38 PM   #2
Inactive
(male)

Lourage HB User
Re: I'm a Frustrated Newbie