It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2009, 05:39 AM   #1
(female)

gloriak_55 HB User
Here we go again! Side effects ugh!!

I am not good with time frames but awhile back I was put on Lisonipril for HBP and it worked well on the HBP but I developed this horrible, horrible cough and was taken off and the cough went away (maybe some of you remember me posting about this) so the doc put me on Amiloride a diuretic and now I have a terrible sore throat. Can the diurectic be causing this? I have not been sick and the sore throat seems to have been building gradually to where I can barely stand to swallow. I see the doctor today. Has anyone had this happen with the sore throat? Man I just can't believe yet another side effect. I am so bummed. So now what? I refuse a beta blocker they slow me down to a crawl and I eat everything in sight. I just do not know what to try next.

Old 06-09-2009, 07:42 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

cartner HB Usercartner HB Usercartner HB Usercartner HB Usercartner HB Usercartner HB User
Re: Here we go again! Side effects ugh!!

I would suggest that you ask your dr to put you on one of the new drug classes, like ARBs (Cozaar, Atacand, Benicar and Diovan too). Actually, they put patients on this group if they have cough being on ACEs like Lisonipril.

If that didn't work out for you then you can try another drug class, but first ask him for an ARB drug like Benicar or Diovan.
Good luck and god bless you
Michael

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-09-2009, 09:09 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Machaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB UserMachaon HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloriak_55 View Post