It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2001, 09:10 AM   #1

highclimber44 HB User
white coat syndrome

Hello,im 39,i run or walk 3 to 5 times a week 30 to 40 minutes. I lift wieghts twice a week. I deal with high bp. I take my bp about 5 times a week with readings of 120/78 to 150/90. When a doctor takes my bp it is always high. I can feel it going up before he takes it. My heart starts racing and i feel very nervous. My ? Is i have a job interview which requires a bp test. I need it to be in range but i know i'll be nervous. I'm thinking of taking one of my friends bp pills. Any suggestions? Thanks, highc.44<p>[this message has been edited by highclimber44 (edited 02-13-2001).]

Old 02-13-2001, 09:27 AM   #2

highclimber44 HB User
Re: white coat syndrome

I'm sorry for the double post but i'm new at this. I also eat a healthy low salt diet & take vitamins. Thanks again,& sorry for the double. Highc.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-13-2001, 09:55 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

JJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB UserJJ HB User

I know you want your BP to be ok, but taking meds. that aren't yours is VERY dangerous. Please just try and relax, but don't take meds. that are not prescribed for you. Also, the meds. don't work over night anyway, you have to be on them for awhile. Good luck.

Old 02-14-2001, 02:12 AM   #4

Speedgal HB User

The previous reply was spot on. Don't think that becuase your BP is high you are at fault. It may be genetic. I am a runner, do weights etc etc but mine has been borderline since I was 18 - I'm now 42. I take half a tablet a day and it drops it like a stone. So instead of being stressed about it, maybe get put on some meds. You may just have chosen the wrong parents! :-)