It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2011, 04:56 PM   #1
(female)

kk83 HB User
High BP, EKG, Echo... ugh.

Hi all! I am a stress case right now (which I'm sure is helping my BP ) and needed a place to just vent I suppose. I went to a new Dr. as my excellent primary care just retired. I don't care for this new dr. He was very over personal (in a bad way) and just his mannerisms creeped me out. Well, he talked to me about family history, ect for over an hour before taking my blood pressure. I told him I had white coat and he insisted I have an EKG.

My reading there was 130/100. He talked to me though the entire time he took my BP reading. He repeated it on the other arm and finished much more quickly, confirming 130/100.

He did the EKG and said it showed some left atria enlargement. I am a nursing student, but I'm not advanced at how to interpret results so this left me a bit confused. He then started circling the paper and saying he also thought the right was enlarged although the EKG "didn't pick that up". He scheduled me for an echocardiogram (which I had today) and a chest x ray, with blood work (which I haven't done yet).

I know I have a high resting pulse rate - usually in the 90's and can creep to the low 100's when I'm anxious. (I have a history of severe panic disorder, that I manage now). I didn't look much at the screen during the Echo - but the technician did ask me if I took my BP at home and what my normal heart rate was during the test. On the EKG it said it was 107.

I've been taking my bp at home on my monitor as I usually do and my numbers have been much lower - ranging from 118/83 - 124/ up to 89/90. My problem is that even taking my readings at home I'm still stressed.