It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

High & Low Blood Pressure Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2011, 03:26 AM   #1
(male)

roknrolller HB User
Episodic BP spikes -cause unknown -thoughts?

Hi! I'm new to this message board thing so please bear with me. I'm a 48 year-old white male, in generally good health, taking meds to manage cholesterol, HBP, hypothyroidism, and GAD. In February of 2010 I had an episode of a sudden spike in BP with tachycardia that landed me in the ER and subsequently ICU for 2 days of observation. BP had topped out at 177/130, heart rate was up around 140. Happened at about 2:30PM on a Friday at work, which was going well. Test results yielded no evidence of heart attack. Subsequent nuclear stress test was fine, with no sign of any arterial blockages. Was told by Docs to go about business as usual, paying attention to my diet and exercise routines (which I had been- diligently), and watching my level of stress (which is relatively low). Then on May 16th of this year, it happened again around 8:00AM. Didn't go to the ER, as the symptoms were the same but seemingly not quite as intense. I called into work, and opted to pop a Nitro tab (which had been previously been prescribed after the Feb '10 event, just in case). BP reached 161/124, heart rate topped out at 122. It took an additional Nitro tab and about 4 hours for everything to return to "normal". Stayed home that day and rested/slept. Woke up Tuesday, felt OK, so I went to work (I am a Certified Pharmacy Tech). The morning was a little busy, but I broke out into a drenching sweat which went on for about 2 hours. I know my BP was elevated, but I didn't check it. Around 11AM, things once again returned to normal. The next day, Wednesday, everything was fine- the whole day went off without a hitch, and I felt great. On Thursday May 19th, woke up, felt good, went to work. I had been at