It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

HIV Prevention Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2007, 03:55 PM   #1
(female)

stayingstrong06 HB User
Does Herpes turn into HIV?

Hi, I am new to this and I think this is such a wonderful site. I have read some stories and I am glad to know that I am not the only one going thru this. I tested positive for HSV type 2 in September of 2006. I was told by my doctor that I will have small outbreaks in the future and he prescribed me Valtrex. Since then I have had small outbreaks but I got another one in December, then again in the end of January and most recent about 3 weeks ago. I called the doctor and told him about my outbreaks and they asked me if I was going through alot of stress and I said yes. So BINGO! that was my answer. Since then I have not had any outbreaks but as I went to the doctors office I requested to take all kinds of STD tests (HPV,HIV,Syphillis,Chlamydia,Gonnorhea, Herpes (again) & Hepatitis C)

So they did some blood work on me a week ago and I am FREAKING OUT! I have been looking for early symptoms on HIV and I have had some in the past such as swollen glands ( I went to my Throat doctor and he told me I had Tonsillitis). I also read that Tonsillitis is an HIV Symptom but it's also a herpes symptom too. The reason why I am worried about it is that my ex husband constantly cheated on me and I don't know if he used protection with the other women. The last time I took an HIV test was when I was pregnant with my son in 2000. I have not had many partners (Can still count withone hand ) but I am just really worried if I do have HIV, I won't be able to see my children grow up. I know this sounds stupid but I can really use some advice. Has anyone ever had this problem and it came out negative? Please reply. THANKS!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-24-2007, 04:32 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)