It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2005, 01:23 PM   #1
(female)

concered22 HB User
Question about HPV

I found out in Nov 2004 that I was positive for high risk HPV. I know that I did not get the HPV from my fiance but he may have gotten it from me. My question is that if my fiance has contracted the HPV from me then after my LEEP and cyro can he give me back the same strain? I had the LEEP in Dec and went back for my pap in April and then had a colpo and biopsy yesterday. I have read in some different places that you can't get back the same strain can someone please help????

concerned22

Old 05-18-2005, 02:31 PM   #2
(female)

mritta HB User
Re: Question about HPV

Although I am no expert, it is my understanding that you cannot get back the same strain. You already have that strain, so your body is used to it. In fact, if your body is able to fight the strand, I have read that is acutally builds up antibodies to that particular strand.

For example, when first diagnosed with HPV, I had a visible wart. That was 3 years ago, and I have not had one since. Although I have not had the HPV DNA test to see what strands I actually have, I would guess that my body has built up antibodies to that particular strand. (Now i just wish it would get over the strand currently causing my abnormal cells!) You can however be introduced to new strands.

Thats what I've been told so far. I hope that helps a little.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-19-2005, 04:02 AM   #3
Veteran
(female)

victoria48 HB User

Hi concered

HPV is a virus which lives in your body and can cause abnormalities to the cells of the cervix. The LEEP only removes the abnormal cells, it does not remove the HPV virus.