It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2006, 10:25 PM   #1
(male)

colts_2005 HB User
Question on HPV?

HI im a male and about 6 weeks ago i had sex with a girl and she had a pap smear test monday and they said she has hpv..So what do i have to do or what will happen to me..any information would really be appreciate thanks

Old 09-27-2006, 01:05 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

jen52983 HB User
Re: Question on HPV?

as far as i understand.. men can only carry the virus, they won't actually get warts or anything (woman may not either.) But go get tested.. I'm not a doctor.. but from hear-say... men are carriers of the virus and my never even know they have it because no symptoms occur.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-27-2006, 02:02 PM   #3
(female)

healthyktty1 HB User
Quote:
Originally Posted by colts_2005
HI im a male and about 6 weeks ago i had sex with a girl and she had a pap smear test monday and they said she has hpv..So what do i have to do or what will happen to me..any information would really be appreciate thanks
whether or not you will become symptomatic depends on the strain of the virus your sexual partner has, and whether you actually caught it when you had sex.
types 6 and 11 typically cause warts to grow, so if she has either of those, you may get warts at some point down the line. if your body subverts the virus before you become symptomatic, you may not.