It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2009, 05:34 PM   #1
(female)

klay HB User
Wink Efudex for HPV

Hi:

I am new here and I am wondering if anyone can help me. I was diagnosed with HPV about 5 months ago. I was given Efudex to help get rid of it. By the way, I never developed warts, but it was confirmed in a skin biopsy. It was external. After 30 days on Efudex...i thought the hell would be over. But the Efudex seems to have completely burnt my skin off. Seriously! I have been recovering from the Efudex for nearly 3 months. I am wondering if anyone has used Efudex for HPV (external-on vulva)....and if anyone can tell me how long it will take me to recover. My skin still burns and it is even difficult to walk. It has been such a trying time. There are times when I think I will forever live in pain. Can someone help!

Thanks from the bottom of my heart

Old 09-17-2009, 10:40 PM   #2
(female)

blueskies7 HB User
Re: Efudex for HPV

Hi, I never used Efudex before but I have used Aldara for genital warts. Aldara also has a burning effect but not to the extent you are describing. May I ask what kind of HPV lesions did you have? Do you know if it was a high-risk strain that caused VIN-type (vulvar intraepethelial neoplasia) lesions? Or were you diagnosed with a low-risk strain that can cause genital warts?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-20-2009, 02:23 PM   #3
(female)

klay HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueskies7 View Post
Hi, I never used Efudex before but I have used Aldara for genital warts. Aldara also has a burning effect but not to the extent you are describing. May I ask what kind of HPV lesions did you have? Do you know if it was a high-risk strain that caused VIN-type (vulvar intraepethelial neoplasia) lesions? Or were you diagnosed with a low-risk strain that can cause genital warts?