It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hypoglycemia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2003, 01:47 PM   #1

Gehn241 HB User
I need help with Reactive Hypoglycemia

[FONT=Verdana]
Greetings!

I have a serious case of reactive hypoglycemia, where my blood sugar levels drop to about 30....I was wondering what the best meal plans are for someone with my condition. I believe that the symptoms of this hypoglycemia (irritability, tension, anxiety) are affecting my personal relationships. Just wondering if anyone out there has a successful plan on dealing with this condition....I am a student and do not have access to certain foods all of the time (cafeteria food does not help). Most of the day I am in classes and was wondering what kinds of foods people carry around with them to aid their symptoms. Which foods should I eat? Which foods should I avoid? Thanks in advance for your help!

-Gehn241

Old 11-24-2003, 02:03 PM   #2
Senior Veteran

PaNik5717 HB User
Re: I need help with Reactive Hypoglycemia

Simply adding more protein to my meals and snacks made a huge difference in my life. I'm sure complex carbs would help, too, but they are more difficult to get. Actually, once I changed my snakcs, the problem almost disappeared. I carry peanuts with me as snacks. Sometimes, I also carry string cheese. And, anytime you have sugary snacks, including fruits and vegetables, make sure you have protein with them, like a nut butter of some kind. Seeds and nuts have helped me tremendously.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-24-2003, 02:39 PM   #3

Gehn241 HB User