It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hysterectomy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2007, 08:25 AM   #1
(female)

patt1836 HB User
uterine prolapse - hysterectomy??

i was just told by my OB that i have uterine prolapse (from having 2 children) 1st degree, and need to have my uterus removed vaginally. I asked if I could just do Kagel's to strengthen muscles and was told that it really would not work. does anyone know anything about this or have any commets? i am very healthy and 38 yrs old. i have never had to have any kind of surgery before and i am scared. i am planning on having a 2nd opinion as well.

The following user gives a hug of support to patt1836:
AnnieMaine (09-02-2011)
Old 03-08-2007, 07:50 PM   #2
(female)

beachlovr HB User
Re: uterine prolapse - hysterectomy??

patt1836,
I have a first degree uterine prolapse also. I am 37 and had three vaginal deliveries and also very healthy otherwise. My doctor says that unless I am having a lot of pain daily or pain from intercourse that a woman can totally live with a uterine prolapse of this mild degree. I do not have pain but can feel the heaviness of the uterus especially right before I get my period. Are you having any pain or problems from your prolapse? I think that getting a second opinion for ANY surgery is a must. I would also recommend even getting a third opinion. Doing Kegels cannot hurt you but they probably won't help much. The only other place you can seek help regarding this would be by seeing a highly qualified acupuncturist. I have tried some herbal remedies that I got from my acupuncturist and it has made my prolapse not seem as heavy. Weird, huh? Please let me know what you decide to do. I cannot seem to find anyone else who has this mild degree of uterine prolapse on this site. I would like to hear what your second opinion doctor says.
beachlovr

Sponsors Lightbulb