It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hysterectomy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2009, 06:20 PM   #1
(female)

DoodleCT HB User
Slated for hysterectomy, cystocele and rectocele repair

Hi i am new at this. I really appreciate all of the information on these posts. I am slated for hysterectomy, cystocele and rectocele repair on Oct 19. I am very nervous after all the reading.

Background: I was so shocked to learn there was such a thing as a cystocele! I had my third large child normal delivery at 43 and it showed up thereafter. I have lived with it for 18 years but it was never that bad. I would go months without even thinking about it.

In the past year it got a lot worse. When I sit down it is like a little fish jumps back in there. I can't go around with my insides falling out. I don't have leaking but it is uncomfortable and getting worse generally.

One of my big issues is how fit I will be able to stay. I work out and have for years. Being fit is totally key to my life and my mental health. My MD is at Yale and he says I go back to a normal life after 6 weeks. I am not seeing that happen to a lot of people on this blog. So tell me--do I have a choice about this surgery? There are so many more serious health things, I feel like I should just suck it up? or is this going to wreck my normal life?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-11-2009, 01:34 AM   #2
(female)

helenm55 HB User
Re: BLADDER PROLAPSE - desperate for advice...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoodleCT View Post
Hi i am new at this. I really appreciate all of the information on these posts. I am slated for hysterectomy, cystocele and rectocele repair on Oct 19. I am very nervous after all the reading.