It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Hysterectomy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2010, 10:41 PM   #1
(female)

debsav63 HB User
I'm a newb-have a ? about post-op complications

In December 2009, I had a complete hysterectomy. Since one of my ovaries was huge from a mass (NON-cancerous!), I had a vertical incision. Surgery was Tues. morning and I went home Thurs. morning. One week visit with surgeon went fine. I told him of my concerns of a "pop" a few different times when I'd sneeze. He said he wasn't worried about it, that everything looked good. I was feeling great!

Two weeks post-op, I felt like crap. I had horrible pain across my upper abdomen. It felt like an intestinal flu or something. I called my surgeon and he said it was normal. I didn't think so, but put my faith in the guy.

Exactly 3 weeks to the day of having my surgery, I was having emergency surgery to fix a hernia where the inner incision didn't hold, my bowel protruded and about a foot of my bowel had to be removed because it had died off. It was a different surgeon for this operation and the recovery was horrible. I woke up with what looked like two testicles hanging out of my pubic area - turns out they were some sort of drainage bulbs! I had several 'stay' sutures, so my tummy looked like an old-fashioned TV antenna patterned all over it. They were soooo tight and I was soooo miserable. I had to wear a tight binder for two months afterward.