It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Immune Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2008, 07:30 PM   #1
(female)

amberwalsch HB User
Do autoimmune disorders run in the family?

Hi there-
My dad has Rheumatoid Arthritis, and I am currently undergoing testing for Chrons disease. I know that Rheumatoid Arthritis can run in the family, and I know that Chrons disease can run in the family... but my question is ... can autoimmune disorders (different ones), so autoimmune disorders in general still have a tendency to run in the family?

Thanks in advance!

Old 04-10-2008, 07:41 PM   #2
(female)

VA_girl HB User
Re: Do autoimmune disorders run in the family?

I am no expert on this for sure, but my mother's side of the family has MD and Celiac disease and thyroid problems. I believe all three of these things are autoimmune and passed down through genes.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-10-2008, 08:37 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Wallis86 HB User

Yes, autoimmune diseases often run in families, especially, for some reason, arthritis and bowel issues. I just read an article on this, but I can't remember where. Also, I've heard of people developing type 1 diabetes due to parental thyroid problems. The odd thing is that autoimmune diseases require environmental triggers, so even if you have the genes for it you might not get the disease. I'm an identical twin, but my sister doesn't have any of the diseases I do.

Old 04-13-2008, 06:45 PM   #4
(female)

debbie363636 HB User

The answer to your question is absolutley yes! My husband side of the family looks like this:

Mother-Ulcerative colitis
My husband- ulcerative colitis, thyroid disease, currently being diagnosed with new condition of Wegener's, an extremely rare auto-imune disease
My husbands twin- diabetes
My son- thyroid disease
My daughter- lupus, sjogrens,rheumo arthritis, and raynaulds
His niece-chrons