It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Immune Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2011, 11:06 PM   #1
(female)

eClaire06 HB User
Question Positive ANA and low IgA

Hello all, this is my first time posting on this board, having just discovered it earlier today. (And yes, I already wrote this out once and then lost it, somewhere in the ether! That won't happen again!) I'm an active 54 year old woman with lots of joint pain that has seemed to me to be more chronic and sever than I would expect given my age and general health. Back, knees, hips, feet, wrists, hands, and what feels like a lot so related muscle pain. It has always been diagnosed as osteoarthritis, but x-rays/CT's don't really show arthritis that would explain the level of pain I have. I have never thought I had a particularly low pain threshold, so I believe the pain I have is real. It's not especially disabling, but it does prevent me from being as active as I would like (and as I was, within the last couple of years), and it is a constant in my life, although I generally try to soldier on in spite of it. Several months ago, my cast iron stomach was no longer so cast iron, to the extent that I went to the doctor. She did tests (food allergy profile, celiac--both negative) and determined that I have irritable bowel syndrome. Then two months ago, the joint pain became enough of an issue that I went in again (to my internal medicine doc), and she did some "arthritis testing". After a few days, the office called and said everything was normal, and it must be osteoarthritis, and basically I would just have to learn to live with it. Today, I decided I just couldn't live with it, and I self-referred to a rheumatologist, and got an appointment in January. I went over and picked up my labwork, and I found that there were several lab values that aren't really "normal" at all. The IgA is slightly low,