It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Incontinence Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2007, 05:49 PM   #1
(female)

Kaleigh-Ann HB User
Secca Procedure for Gas Incontinence

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here. I have been struggling with chronic constipation since childhood and for the past five years I have been dealing with constant gas and gas incontinence. It sucks because I am only 20 years old and I don't even go out in public because my gas seeps out and I hate having to hear people make comments about how I stink. Anyway, I am going to find a gastroenterologist and have them do a colonoscopy just to be on the safe side even though they probably won't find anything wrong. I am then going to find a colorectal surgeon and see if they can treat me for the gas incontinence. I went to a website and they said that there is an outpatient surgery called the Secca Procedure that can have great results on making the sphincter muscles much stronger so that the gas will be much less likely to seep out. The reason it appeals to me is because the recovery time for this is much quicker than it would be if I just has a sphincteroplasty. I am just wondering if anyone knows anything about this procedure and if you have actually had it do you feel that it changed the level of your gas incontinence. Thanks in advance for any help that you can give to me.

P.S. If you need more info on the Secca Procedure go here:
[url]http://www.bowel-incontinence.org/fecal-incontinence-treatments/fecal-incontinence-secca.htm[/url]

Old 04-27-2007, 09:39 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Kel123 HB User
Re: Secca Procedure for Gas Incontinence

Hi,