It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Infant Care (up to 18 months old) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2006, 02:09 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

roxyfoxy HB User
Fever, congestion

Just yesterday my baby started sounding raspy when he cried and gooed. Today he is crying quite a bit when he's awake, but he's sleeping more than usual. I say he has a fever because he is warm, but I haven't taken the temp yet. I've never done it before so I am having a hard time. I tried under the arm but he cries and moves so much I can't wait the full 90 seconds as directed. He's just 2 months old and I am hoping to God that he doesn't have the flu. His nose is a bit runny as well. I haven't noticed it when he's awake, but after he's been sleeping its "crusty" under his nose. I haven't called the doctor because we go tomorrow for his shots first thing in the morning and they don't have after hours anyway.

Any suggestions for how to keep him comfortable would be great?

Old 01-15-2006, 03:08 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

roxyfoxy HB User
Re: Fever, congestion

I should also mention he's been spitting up a lot. He normally doesn't spit up much.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-15-2006, 03:47 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

dizzygirl HB User

I would say he's sick for sure. You really need to take his temp. Rectally is the only accurate way to tell at his age. Just like you change him, put vaseline on the thermometer, and put it in about 1/2 inch, not too much. If it's over 100.3, call the doctor even if it's after hours. Hope he feels better soon. Try a humidifier, and if the doctor okay's it, tylenol.

Old 01-15-2006, 05:48 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

roxyfoxy HB User