It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Infant Care (up to 18 months old) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2008, 06:48 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

Brooke85 HB User
Why won't my 1 month old poop?!

I recently switched my DS to mostly formula and he hasn't had a BM since Friday afternoon. He is peeing like a champ and filling up his diapers. I also smell him (like maybe he tooted, lol) and I expect to see poop when I open his diaper, but none! He hasn't been acting differently...any reasons why he hasn't gone BM? Any suggestions on how to get things moving? Would syrup work?

He started out with milk-based formula and now is on soy. I don't know if that makes a difference or not. Thanks

Old 04-06-2008, 07:21 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

G8r4evr HB User
Re: Why won't my 1 month old poop?!

Hi Brooke! Im no expert, but Im thinking its probably just his system adjusting to the mostly formula rather than BM. Take into account the switch from milk based to soy and my guess would be that he is just a little backed up. When I switched Taylor from mainly BM to formula, I remember she didnt poop for a little over 24 hours and I was nervous...but she went the very next morning, much to my relief.

I have read over and over that you can use the karo syrup though, if he doesnt go soon. =)

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-06-2008, 07:32 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

kittyroo HB User

Formula is a common culprit for constipation in a baby. Call in to your pediatrician to find out the best way to get him unclogged. You shouldn't have to even take him in, the nurse will probably just tell you what to do over the phone.

Last edited by kittyroo; 04-07-2008 at 01:01 PM.

Old 04-06-2008, 08:10 PM   #4
(female)

befer70 HB User