It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Infant Care (up to 18 months old) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2009, 12:37 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

Accutane2X HB User
Sippy Cup Question

Hi,
My DD is 12 months old. We just started at a new daycare and the daycare provider said, "we need to get her up to par. She should be walking and off the bottle." We have been weaning from the bottle slowly and giving her cow's milk, but we are not off the bottle yet. As for the walking, I can't do much about that. She will do it when she's ready, and I was rather offended by her remarks. Our pediatrician recommended we were off formula and the bottle by 12 months, but I feel like it's such a rush to make my baby grow up.

My question is, what kind of sippy cups do you use? I have been using a Nuby since she was about 6 months old. She likes it and picked up quickly how to use it. I have read that DD can become attached to them because the spout is soft like the nipple on a bottle and you may have to wean from the Nuby after you wean from the bottle. I also just picked up a Foogo (made my Thermos). It's great, but expensive. I thought with summer coming it was a good investment since it keeps liquid cold for 6 hours. It took her a little while to get the hang of drinking from it because the spout is hard and nothing like a nipple (besides the fact that you have to suck it). This is my issue. I like the fact they make the sippys so they don't spill, but isn't it defeating the purpose of getting rid of the bottle? Shouldn't I just buy a cheap sippy from the dollar store and let her drink from it and spill it. Isn't that the whole point? Or am I missing the point? Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-09-2009, 01:08 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)