It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Infectious Diseases Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2007, 06:27 PM   #1
(female)

FANNtasy3 HB User
Fifths Disease as an Adult

Hi,
This is my first time on this board. Im usually posting in the Fibromyalgia board. I was wondering if anyone here has had any experience with Fifths Disease as an adult. I tested positive with parvo virus B19, (Fifths Disease) 8 yrs ago. I was 32. I don't think I ever fully recovered and low and behold, 5 yrs after was diagnosed with Fibro. I do have a history of illness throughout my life, but am almost certain that the Fifths was the last straw.
Any one have any info, I would be glad to hear.
Thanx, Feel Well Folks, Felicia

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-28-2007, 12:52 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

kdel HB Userkdel HB User
Re: Fifths Disease as an Adult

Hi, I also can be found on the fibro boards and I can relate as I also get childhood diseases that we as adults are not supposed to. When my son was 2 he got a terrible case of coxsackie viruse and as soon as he was feeling better guess what? My turn! Also when he got his flu shot this past year(at age 4) I came down with symptoms(so did he actually) so just letting you know it happens no matter what the doctors say!
Kara

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-17-2007, 03:56 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Wowwwweeee HB User

Hi,

Fifths Disease is also known as Human Parvo Virus B. I was exposed to it about ten years ago from two children who had it in a rehab facility where I worked. I was VERY sick with it the first year - doctors were initially baffled and kept coming at me with different diagnoses until they figured out what I had (which was diagnosed by a blood test). I did NOT have the tell-tale butterfly rash that usually accompanies this illness.