It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Infectious Diseases Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2007, 04:16 PM   #1
(female)

sharpscissors HB User
how to know if you still have mrsa after taking antibiotics

Old 11-14-2007, 09:44 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

stepbystep89 HB Userstepbystep89 HB Userstepbystep89 HB Userstepbystep89 HB User
Re: how to know if you still have mrsa after taking antibiotics

I am not an expert on MRSA by any means, but I did have MSSA last year. My infectious disease dr told me that because I had it in my bone, it would never actually go away. It would always lay dormant and may come back months or even years after you stop the antibiotics.
The infectious disease dr did bloodwork each week when I came in for refills on my antibiotics. They said that once my white blood cell count reached a certain level, they could determine the infection was no longer active in my body.
Again, I a not an expert. All I can really do is share my experience with you in hopes that it helps. If I were you, I would definitely sit down with an infectious disease dr and ask them all the questions you can think of.
Hope this helps!
Step

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-14-2007, 10:30 PM   #3
(female)

jellybean3009 HB Userjellybean3009 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpscissors View Post
sharpscissors, I would like to know also.
I wonder what tests can be made to see if you still have it?
Did you have MRSA? I did, had surgery (abscess drained in breast) took two weeks of antibiotics and am STILL tired and worn out!

Old 11-14-2007, 10:35 PM   #4
(female)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stepbystep89 View Post