It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Infertility Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2008, 12:19 PM   #1
(male)

Rex999 HB User
My first posting......

Hi all, this is my first attempt at using this site so please bear with me if I waffle on!
in the next 6 - 12 weeks my wife and I are about to stary our 1st IVF cycle and we are both scared to say the least! My wife uses another similar site to talk to other people and that is her own space - Although we do talk to each other about our IVF future treatment, we have both found talking to people "outside" of the situation is a great help. Which is why I decided to come on here.
I am not exactly sure what it is I am scared of - Is it the thought of my wife having all the tests and procedures throughout the treatment? Is it the thought of trying to make a baby in this way and not the way I always thought it would or should be (the natuaral way)? Is it the fear of the pressure it may put on our relationship? Is it the thought of the sheer disappointment if we are not successful? Or is it just the fear of the great unknown?
The past few months have been a rollercoaster ride - We both were almost certain the fact we had not conceived natuarlly was down to me and linked to a disability I have. After lots of of tests it was confirmed it was me that was the proble. That in itself was hard to deal with. we then went straight into looking into IVF and working out how we can finance it without having time to breath as we both thought the longer we waited, the lesser our chances of success were. We are lucky enough to be able to afford 2 cycles at the moment if we enrole in an egg share scheme.
Anyway, i said I might waffle on a bit! I would love to hear other comments/feelings on what I have mentioned above - Would also love to hear from other men who are in a similar situation to mine. Look forward to hearing from you.

R.