It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Inner Ear Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2006, 10:33 AM   #1
(male)

elpirata HB User
effect of alcohol on the inner ear

because I havent been feeling good, I havent had a drink in months, but it occurs to me that my symptoms are exactly the same as when you have been drinking at lunchtime and then come out into the sunshine.

1) feel a little spacy
2) feel a little disconnected
3) balance is impaired

I am not an expert on what exactly alcohol does to the inner ear but it would seem a clue to help with diagnosis.

does this make it more likely that it is a mild labyrinthitus and less likely it is a BPPV as was my intial diagnosis.

going to see a neurotologist tomorrow at my own expenses (wallet will take a big hit I think) so hopefully get it from the horses mouth

what do you think about the alcohol?

regards

elpirata

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-12-2006, 12:41 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Tesss HB User
Re: effect of alcohol on the inner ear

HI Elpirata

I understand what you are getting at, however I don't think you can distinguish between labs and BPPV based on that - as the brain has to go through the same compensation process for labs or BPPV.
From previous posts on the board I think the symptoms of both are fairly similar.

I think the Neuro-oto will definately be able to help with this. Why did you think you have bppv? Let us know what the Doc says.

Best wishes
Tesss

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-12-2006, 12:59 PM   #3
(male)

elpirata HB User

hey tesss

thanks for posting.

I thought I had BPPV because I saw an ENT guy who said that based on his 20 years experience thats what i had.

he did MRI to rule out tumour and epley manoevre a few days later and it didnt work, I have been doing brandt-daroff exercises for a week or so 3 times a day and they have made no difference.