It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Inner Ear Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2008, 11:35 AM   #1
(female)

cavenewt HB User
Hi, I think I have BPPV

Hi, I'm a 54-year-old mother of an 11 year old son, and live in Wyoming in a town big enough to have a pretty good hospital. I've always been disgustingly healthy and don't even have a regular doctor. But, as a self-employed computer consultant, I am thrilled to report that I finally have decent health insurance. Thank goodness.

3 weeks ago I thought I had a stomach bug, but I mentioned the accompanying strange dizziness to a friend who explained to me that she had come down with something called BPPV last fall. So after some googling I betook myself to the hospital via a friend, whose car I miraculously managed to not throw up in. The ER folks seemed familiar with the concept of BPPV, though nobody attempted the Dix-Hallpike test; they did check my eyes a couple times but by then I was on some pretty good IV drugs that suppressed the dizziness, so that might explain why they saw no nystagmus.

Anyway, they stuck me in the ICU overnight (not because I was dying, but they explained they have better monitoring there) and I got blood tests, CT scan of head, MRI of head, and EKG, all normal. I had a very nice internist who convinced the only neurologist, who visits from Salt Lake once a month, to squeeze me in on his next visit on 4/1 (an auspicious date?) All the while I kept saying I think I have BPPV, but by this time the acute vertigo had subsided, though I kept getting pulled to the left when I walked; the doctor got more interested in this left-hand tremor thing and some abnormal leg and arm reflexes that I've had for a couple of years. She thinks they're related. I am unsure, but who am I?