It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Inner Ear Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2011, 07:50 PM   #1
(female)

cabin921 HB Usercabin921 HB Usercabin921 HB Usercabin921 HB User
Best magnesium supplement

Needing some info on magnesium. Can anyone give me any info on how to raise your magnesium in your cells . Have taken natural calm mag. citrate tried chelated mag. glycinate and every time i raise my dose above 500 mg a day i have a bowel issue and that just makes things worse , also tried the jigsaw mag. malate and when it comes out it is like fire. LOL I am now doing the chelated mag. glycinate and using mag. oil and gel , but have to work so hard with the mag gel and oil that i am all the time having to rub it on to keep symptoms away and my muscles still twitch all the time . I have been working with this for about 8 months . Any info would be welcomed . Thanks

Old 09-24-2011, 06:00 AM   #2
(female)

veggie2 HB User
Re: Best magnesium supplement

I recommend magnesium glycinate, which I see you are already taking. I spoke with a knowledgeable integrative med MD and he said to avoid mag oxide as it is not absorbed well. Anything that ends in "ate" is supposed to be good. I switched away from mag citrate - commonly used as a laxative and for good reason. Do you divide your doses? Taking 200mg four times a day may help. Any time you start mag you want to start with a lower dose and work up to the goal dose (I take 800mg a day) as tolerated. Hope this is helpful.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-24-2011, 07:46 AM   #3
Veteran
(female)

jillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB Userjillian4 HB User
Thumbs up Re: Best magnesium supplement