It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Inner Ear Disorders Message Board

My experience with Viral Labrynthitis: STAY POSITIVE!

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
Natsplat
(female)

Natsplat HB User
My experience with Viral Labrynthitis: STAY POSITIVE!

Hi - I just wanted to stop by and share my experience with Viral Labrynthitis!

First of all, you're probably reading this because you've got VL or dizziness and you're googling your symptoms and losing your ever-lovin' mind and creating your Bucket List and convincing yourself of all kinds of morose and scary diagnoses. Stop it! Breathe! Focus! GAH!

This is kind of long, so if you are pressed for time - what I REALLY want you to read are my "Things that Helped Me" section down below. I'm not a doctor or someone trying to sell magic cure-all pills, but I would like to share what I think worked for me, personally - in case it can help someone else. Here's the guts of my personal story.

I'm sitting here on a Saturday night, writing to strangers on the innernets, because I want to provide a bit of positivity and optimism to those who are suffering now. A lot of the time, we come to message boards like this one because we are searching for people who have the same problems as ourselves - and it's good to create connections like that to know we aren't alone. But I think it's also important to take the time and share positive stories too!

Please remember, for the majority of people with VL - they get better in a relatively short time frame. They get back to their normal lives. Three months ago, I was in a bad place with this diagnosis - and I am now MUCH improved! I am operating at 99.99% normal and you will too (please don't be discouraged. I did enough worrying and consulting "Dr. Google" in the early days for all of us!)