Is Acidophilus made with milk? Before I developed severe food allergies randomly this year, I was able to take acidophilus without any problems, and it REALLLY helped my major constipation and bloating. Now, I tried it again, after all of these problems started, and I get what seems to be an allergic reaction. I have seen dairy/milk-free acidophilus made with soy instead, and that kind of implies that acidophilus is regularly made with a milk ingredient. I do also know that it helps break down lactose. If it contains milk, I definitely can't take it seeing that it seems I'm allergic to the whole list of common allergic foods now.