It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2004, 05:12 PM   #1
(female)

leelee04 HB User
Exclamation IBS,anxiety,or both?

Hi everybody,
I'm new to this IBS board. I've been having some syptoms and wondering if anyone could help me out. OK, Two months ago I was having a problem with my inner ear, I was dizzy all the time. It caused me a great deal of anxiety. So much I stopped eating. I lost a lot of weight. I'm 5'4 and weigh 101 pounds. Before this all started I was around 120. Well I was told I have fluid in my ears from allergys and was given flonase. The dizziness started to lighten up a bit so I started to eat more. Thats when my stomach started to burn, really bad. Plus I got bloated really bad. I went to the urgent care since it was sunday and my doctors office was closed. The doctor there said it sounds like gastritis and gave me zantac and reglan. I took them both. The reglan made me feel like I was going to jump out of my skin so I stopped taking it. I continued on the zantac but my stomach still burned and I was still bloated. Keep in mind I'm stiil a nervous wreck for some reason. I went back to my doctor and she put me on prevacid. The burning went away but I'm so bloated and I'm nauseas. I feel like I have so much air that wont come out. no matter what I eat I still bloat up. A couple weeks go by and the doctor orders me a ultra sound. It didnt show anything wrong. The doctor came to the conclusion that she thinks I have a little bit of IBS caused by anxiety. She told me she wants me to start taking zoloft and my syptoms will go away. Here are my syptoms. Bloating, sometimes cramping, I had diareah once, nausea, I feel like I constantly have to go to the bathroom but I really dont think I have to. My stomach growls and I think my colon growls. I have pressure in my chest and up my neck.