It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2006, 10:08 AM   #1
(male)

dbirchum HB User
New to IBS - HELP!! (Gas issues esp.)

Greetings....

I am totally new to this IBS board/world, but I am here to hopefully get some answers. Up until a year and a half ago, everything seemed 'normal' with me, however, around that time, I started to get various 'stomach' issues. I was nauseous a lot (never really getting actually sick), but just plain nauseous a lot of the time. I would also get a lot of lower abdominal discomfort. I was having a lot of stomach acid issues too. As far as I can remember, I never had any BM issues at that time.

I went to my Dr. and told him my systems and he immediately said, sounds like "IBS" and that was it. He gave me a prescription for Zantac and I use that a lot if my stomach is off.

Back in September, something weird started happening to my BMs. They became totally irregular and way off schedule. The stool was just different from what it had ever been in my life. It was VERY weird, annoying, frustrating and embarrassing. I went weeks and weeks without saying anything and 'hoping' it would go away. I completely adjusted my diet - cut out greasy foods, fatty foods, most meat (they were giving me stomach problems), and also cut out caffeine, coffee, etc. This was a huge adjustment for me, but I would of done anything to get some relief. Finally, most of these symptoms subsided until mid January.