It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2006, 11:42 PM   #1
(male)

Oceandivvr HB User
Swollen stomach

My girlfriend's stomach is always swollen. She has had 4 daughters but she has no stretch marks so it's not from stretched, loose flesh. Whenever she eats, her stomach really ballons up and is like a basketball. No one seems to know why it is like this and the last doctor told her that she had Irittable Bowl Syndrome. Now, I'm not a doctor but I really have my doubts about that diagnosis.

Does anyone else have these symptoms?????????

Old 09-04-2006, 06:11 PM   #2
(female)

kimbaz HB User
Re: Swollen stomach

Does she have any other symptoms besides a swollen stomach? I suffer from IBS and i get a really swollen stomach when i have an attack but thats usually occompanied by severe pain and a need to run to the toilet.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-06-2006, 01:22 PM   #3
(female)

riley5 HB User

My abdomen gets really bloated after I eat too. I go from a size 2 to a size 10 from eating a meal. Even drinking a bottle of water will cause me to bloat like that. I've had to buy new clothes in size 10 with a drawstring waist so I can cinch it up before I eat, and then let it all the way out after I've eaten.

I also have pain on the left side of my abdomen almost every time after I eat. It's not related to having to go to the bathroom, and going to the bathroom doesn't relieve the pain.

I'm not sure if it's IBS. My GI doctor says it is and my internist says no. This has been constant for three months now, and she says it would come and go if it were IBS. I'm undergoing a lot of testing now.

Old 09-11-2006, 11:42 AM   #4
(female)

champers HB User
Unhappy Re: Swollen stomach

Hi there