It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2007, 04:54 PM   #1
(female)

seabell HB Userseabell HB Userseabell HB User
Question for Harry about fiber

Hi Harry!

I've been coping with IBS-D for more than 10 years now and have read with great interest all your posts on fiber but were afraid to try them 'in case' they made my symptoms worse than they were.

Recently my daughter got her drivers license and can do her own chauffering leaving me free to try to conquer my IBS. I bought a big container of Metamucil and have taken some at night for the past 2 nights. My question is for IBS-D, what is a good dose to work up to? Twice a day? Because anything I put in my mouth usually speeds thru me, I take most meds at night.

Thanks for any insights,
SB

Old 02-09-2007, 10:39 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Harry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB User
Re: Question for Harry about fiber

SB,

I am sorry it took so long to answer your post but I think you should try to get to at least 2 doses daily. Also--- Make sure you drink an adequate amount of water with each dose as the directions say!!

I certainly wish you well ---Harry

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-21-2007, 07:02 AM   #3
(female)

Ick, hate what fiber is doing, was Question for Harry about fiber

I've been taking Metamucil for the past 3 weeks and my stomach is behaving horribly. My stools are full of mucus, I can't seem to get off the toilet, times of the day that I thought were 'safe' for me (afternoons) I'm having attacks.