It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2003, 11:09 PM   #1

loisengle HB User
Unhappy Passing out!

Hi there. I am new to this so I hope you all get it and someone can try and help me understand.
Well let me begin...
I am a thirty year old woman that has had many passing out episodes...A few times finding myself on the floor or stuck between the bathroom door and a wall.
What happens is I get severe cramps so I go to sit on the toilet expecting to have a bowel movement, I sit there in extreme pain, then I begin to feel as though I am going to vomit, then come the hot flahes and cold sweats, then I am out..when I come back through I am basically okay, a little light headed but basically ok. This last episode happened about three weeks ago, smae story but this time I fell and ended up with 5 stitches in my eyebrow and a messed up elbow that still hurts...I went to the ER and they didn't check anything out on me because I told them I had IBS, I have never been diagnosed with it but my family physician suggested it about 6 years ago. I guess I am just scared because of all of the messages I have read on here this evening I haven't seen any where anyone has passed out, they have come close but haven't. Is this a normal IBS happening? Also, the episode before this last one I was admitted into the hospital on the heart floor because they thought the passing out had something to do with my heart being by the time I got to the hospital my heart rate was really low...I went through alot of testing (tilt test, ecc) and everything came back fine, so they pushed me aside. So there it is...
Also, if anyone has any advice on how to deal with the passing out to prevent myself from getting hurt, it would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you all in advance.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-07-2003, 01:34 AM   #2