It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2003, 06:00 AM   #1

HwoodOnVine HB User
Angry Burning in Colon Area

Hello group. I'm new to group and felt the need to sign up immediately. This is what's going on with me (for the past 4 months):

I had pain that started out in my appendix area (about 4 months ago). Itfelt like I was carrying a weight and would hurt the most when I was sitting.

It started getting worse so I went to the doctor. He didn't see any appendix problem at all. Time went by and the pain started going into my colon/intestine area. It started burning - like after every meal - most mostly when sitting. He put me on all sorts of stuff and admitted not having any diagnosis (Axid, Falnorm, Hyoscyamine (Levbid, I think). Nothing has worked.

I can't even begin to tell you the pain. My diet has changed drastically because I'm afraid to eat the things that I used to eat.

It's the burning on the RIGHT side and sometimes affecting my abdomen and my breathing (but perhaps that's me panicking (sp).

My bowel movements have changed. I used to go regularly 3 times/day - not once/day. My sttols do not look normal (usually orangey in color and loose). I was going through constipation and diahrea and the Falnorm had helped that - until I ran out (they were samples). Twice there was bright red blood in my stools - one of those times - a lot.

My mom was diagnosed with colon cancer in November and so of course, I'm a bit nervous about me having it. I did have a CT scan done 3 months ago and everything was fine (except my wallet as I had to pay the $900 myself - wasn't insured at the time).

My first appt with a gastro doctor is Tuesday. I'm hoping he will have some answers. Whatever it takes - I'll do it - Upper GI, Lower GI, MRI, Ultrasound, Colonoscopy).