It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2009, 05:43 PM   #1
(female)

bellalove HB User
Having a Social Life with IBS..

Hey everyone,

I'm a college student and I was just wondering if anyone else has trouble dating and or having any sort of social life while dealing with IBS? Most of the time I have good days, but other times I have constant stomach pain and just want to stay inside.

I have learned over the years what foods to avoid and what not, but IBS still runs my life. I hate that I worry so much about whether or not I'll have to use the bathroom on dates, or simply when i hang out with my friends.

Does anyone have any advice for me? I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks
P.S. this is kind of random, but once in awhile i do like to have a couple drinks with my friends but the next day my stomach always acts up. Are there any alcoholic beverages that aren't too harsh on the stomach?

Last edited by Administrator; 02-20-2011 at 10:12 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-24-2009, 01:07 AM   #2
(male)

overberg HB User
Re: Having a Social Life with IBS..

if you break your own rules about achohol you will suffer.You should also look at your food intake which could be a contributory factor to your IBS.You are the only person who will be able to get to grips with your own IBS.Go well.

Last edited by Administrator; 02-20-2011 at 10:11 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-24-2009, 06:17 AM   #3
(female)

KD86 HB User

overberg is right...only you can control your IBS.

I too feared what effect this would have on my social life, but I learned what I need to do to keep my symptoms at bay. It may take awhile, but after that time you will learn what is best for you to have a good time and not suffer from IBS symptoms.

KD

Old 07-24-2009, 10:38 AM   #4
(male)

overberg HB User