It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2002, 12:16 AM   #1

Madtraveler HB User
What the pooh is going on?

Ok so I have lived a life of leasure eating what I want and doing what I do, but after going to the doc, I was a little worried about something he said.

I was told that an average person has a bowel movement every 1-2 days..........Well I have one everyday when I woke up, go to bed, when I eat and sometime if I am just thinking about eating. I probably go around 4-6 times a day.

This leads me to another question, I pass a lot of gas, and it smells worse than most people's, not that I am a gas expert but I know when the room clears that it is not normal.

My father (late in his 50's) also passes a lot of gas and has recently had trouble keeping his bowels in at night, and has reverted back to a childlike state of POOPING the bed. This is very disturbing to me, how do I stop myself from getting there? any help would be appriciated.

Old 05-13-2002, 07:38 AM   #2
Senior Veteran

Lindarella HB User
Re: What the pooh is going on?

Just because your dad does that doesn't mean you will. Doctors diagnose bowel problems by a couple different criteria. Change from what is normal for you is one of them. If you've been going like this all along, and it's not causing you problems, then it's normal for you.

Bowel movements are different for everyone. Some people go 1-3 times a day, some go every 3 days. If there isn't any pain, blood, constant diarrhea or constipation and you seem to be going with no trouble, try not to worry about it.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-13-2002, 12:43 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Katie G HB UserKatie G HB User