It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2012, 05:44 AM   #1
(male)

browns2012 HB User
Please read - cured/gone after 25 years of suffering

Hello everyone -

I have suffered with IBS D for 25 years (since I was a young tween/teen). I went to every doctor possible, had scopes, celiac tests, anything you can imagine. After getting no help from medication, I just learned to live with it by taking bulking fiber supplements everyday (I take 8-10 fiber pills everyday at 2pm like clockwork). It helped but I still had IBS-D (just made it much more predictable). I have been doing that for about 14 years now.

Then the unfortunate thing happened where I caught a mild case of herpes (during protected sex - yes you can still catch it). The doctor put me on Acyclovir to clear of the infection. After a few days I started having normal, solid bowel movements. I started thinking - wow this has not happen to me in 20+ years - what an interesting side effect. I took it for 2 weeks. The entire time my IBS was about 95% gone (completely normal and solid BMs). But guess what - here's the more interesting part - it is now two months after I stopped the medication and my IBS is still gone. Either God blessed me with a miracle after 25 years of suffering or this medication had something to do with it. I googled acyclovir and IBS and some other similar stories popped up.

I don't know what anyone can do with this story but I am just passing it along.

God bless and good luck to everyone.

Old 04-18-2012, 07:32 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

flipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB User
Re: Please read - cured/gone after 25 years of suffering