It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Kidney Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2005, 07:45 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

friendly_one HB User
newbie here ---but EXTREMELY FAMILIAR WITH KIDNEY STONES

Date 8/23/05 Hi everybody I'm new to this board and I look forward to talking with ya. (I'm not a newbie anymore since I first posted this thread). LOL

Here's my story.......I'm a 35 yr. old woman with primary hyperparathyroidism (basically, my body overproduces too much calcium), kidney stone disease, chronic pain (in kidney), and osteopenia (loosing bone mass from lumbar spine, total hip, and radial arm due to the kidney stone disease.) I was Dx with kidney stones when I was 9 yrs. old. I have had over 400+ kidney stones (that's not a typo, I wish it was). Here's a list of my surgeries:

40+ ESWL (Extracorporeal Shockwave Lithotripsy) - this is where the stones are broken up in to small pieces so you can urinate them out). ESWL has damaged my kidney so much, I'm now in pain management. I will NEVER HAVE another ESWL again. I have recently been given a new Dx to add to the list...the docs call it chronic lithotripsy induced nephritis.

7 major open surgeries for kidney stone removal (some stones were bigger than a quarter).