It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Kidney Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2005, 02:24 PM   #1

nikkiC HB User
8ry old just dx with kidney stones?

Hi,
After two bouts of bloody urine, my son was diagnosed with two kidney stones and calcium crystals in his urine. He is otherwise, completely healthy. He was put on a strict low sodium diet and we are clueless at to what is ok and what isnt. I know to read the labels but what about drinks? He is supposed to increase his fluids but we are having a tough time with water. Is koolaid or lemonade ok? Anyone else experience this please respond. Thanks.

Old 12-21-2005, 04:33 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

friendly_one HB User
Re: 8ry old just dx with kidney stones?

Hi Nikki....I can relate. I was dx with stones at age 9. You can read my story on this page a few threads down titled "newbie here----but extremely familiar with kidney stones". My stones are calcium oxlate as well. Water is the best fluid, but kool aid and lemonade are fine. Just stay clear of dark sodas (coke and dr. pepper). Sprite and 7-up are fine. I'm sure your doc gave you a list of what to avoid, if not, just let me know and I can tell you. Please don't be alarmed when you read my story. I'm a very extreme case. Feel free to ask any questions. People refer to me as the kidney stone queen, so that's my screen name kstone_queen. LOL

Last edited by friendly_one; 12-21-2005 at 04:33 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-22-2005, 06:00 AM   #3

nikkiC HB User
Re: 8ry old just dx with kidney stones?

Kidneystone Queen,