It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Kidney Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
(female)

daryllyn HB User
Kidney stone stuck since early may :(

Hi there

I am new to healthboards and have questions!

A little background:

I am 28 years old and started getting kidney stones during my last pregnancy. I have had 10 stones in the span of 12 months. One was analyzed and it was comprised of Calcium Phosphate.

I started having back pain in early May. I did not think it was a stone at first. It was just pain, slightly stabby, but not renal colic. So I went to the chiropractor. When several visits did not resolve it, I made an appointment with my doctor. I told her that I thought maybe it was another stone and I wanted a scan. She said it was not a stone, I was too young for that and wasn't in enough pain for it to be a stone. She sent me for a scan anyway (I am just a little pushy).

Turns out I had a 5mm stone stuck at the UVJ in my left distal ureter. They said it was very close to passing. So I pushed fluids and waited. Then I went to see the Urologist and I took Flomax, pushed fluids and waited. I was referred to another Urologist and lost medical coverage before the appointment rolled around.

The stone is still there. The pain gets worse as time passes. I have had 6 utis (working on number 7 now) because of it. Its interfering with my day to day activities. I can hardly pick up my kids because lifting hurts so bad I am at a loss. My college even told me that I am not to return until I have medical documentation saying that the stone is gone so I am missing my core nursing classes as we speak (they started today actually).