It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2006, 08:47 PM   #1
(female)

bumkneeflorida HB User
Thumbs up 6-6-6 was a lucky day for me! Workers Comp knee surgery approved after 8 months!

Hello, this is my first time posting as I am headed down the knee surgery road and thought I would share my journey.

It has been a rough road, from an on the job Hurricane Wilma injury in October 2005, three weeks out of work as we had no electricity here in south florida so I couldn't see an Ortho, I finally got an appointment and was so happy I didn't even care that I had to maneuver on crutches around the many trash cans scattered throughout his office that were catching the water streaming from the leaks in the roof! Then it was another week before the electricity at the MRI center was on so I could have one........then two months of physical therapy cuz the first ortho thought an MRI showing an inflamed superolateral plica (which is present in only 1% of the population by the way) with a lateral patellar tilt, moderate chondromalacia, patellar spurs, myoxid degeneration in all three joints all with severe swelling making bending or flexing excruciating wasn't a big deal!

Well......I realized early on that he was a real "workers comp doctor" and decided that since I wasn't going to get a lawyer I would have to be my own. So......I got educated on the Florida Workers Comp Laws and immediately requested a one time change in treating physicians. In Florida the Carrier has to respond within 5 days with another doctor.

I got lucky, This doctor was not only a very knowledgable Ortho but he himself had a lateral plica just like mine. His became inflammed due to professional bike riding, and he had to have arthroscopic surgery to remove it.